Sandwiches

Sandwiches can be a challenge when trying to eat a reduced-sodium diet. Each slice of bread contains roughly 150 milligrams of sodium, which comes from the salt added when bread is made. Salt in bread making controls yeast growth. So it’s really challenging to make bread without it.

I borrowed a friend’s bread machine and tried to make my own low-sodium bread. While the bread came out OK (it did what it was supposed to do in terms of rising, etc.), boy did it taste flat. Just not the same. So bread is one of those foods I work into my diet in a planned fashion.

To make a sandwich with two slices then, you are already at 300 mg of sodium before you put anything else on it. Whatever goes on it needs to be relatively low in sodium, or it will be impossible to keep it below my allotted 750 milligrams for lunch.

Tomatoes being in season and free in my front yard garden make an especially tasty filler. Pesto my step son and his partner made add tons of flavor – though pesto does contain considerable sodium because of the Parmesan cheese. Keeping my portion to one tablespoon keeps it at roughly 180 milligrams. The tablespoon of mayo has 110 mg, and the fresh mozzarella (about 2 oz) has 150 mg. All told this tasty sammy has 740 mg.

Image

‘Mater Sandwich with Mozzarella and Pesto

The only side that can go with this sandwich and still keep me under my 750 goal would be fresh fruit, which has some sodium, but something like 10 to 15 milligrams in a half cup serving.

Leave a Reply

