Image

Almond encrusted Swai fish with sauteed veggies

Almond encrusted Swai fish with sauteed veggies

Almond encrusted Swai fish with sauteed veggies I ordered at Solomon’s restaurant in Raleigh, NC. I ordered dinner, and explained that I needed my food to not be salted. What I got initially was totally unseasoned vegetables. After having some initial angst over having said anything about my dietary restriction, the owner, Victor Koury, came out and asked how things were. I explained that I didn’t want my food totally plain. What he told me is that the chef kinda freaks out when they hear “no salt” and they go overboard, afraid to do anything to harm the customer. He took my food back, sauteed my veggies in olive oil, garlic and black pepper, and all was right with the world again.

I asked how to best communicate my needs to wait staff. He suggested telling them exactly what I want: vegetables sauteed in a little olive oil with seasonings, rather than saying “please don’t put any salt on my food.” Now maybe I’ll know what to do to help both of us get what we want – me, tasty food; them a satisfied customer.

Leave a Reply

